You are browsing the archived website of the Maribor Theatre Festival - to visit current website, click here.

Maribor Theatre Festival — Archive 2010 - 2016

Expert Jury

Jasen Boko

Writer, dramaturg, and theatre scholar. He is the Acting Managing Director of the Drama of Croatian National Theatre in Split. In his twenty years of dramatic writing, he has written over twenty plays that have been staged in professional theatres in Croatia, Slovenia, and Serbia. He teaches at the Faculty of Philosophy at the University of Split. As a dramaturg, he has collaborated on over twenty productions in Croatia and Slovenia. He is also translator from English. He has published several books on performing arts and literature. He was selector and jury member at various festivals. He is the recipient of several awards for his work. As president of the International Playwrights’ Forum (ITI UNESCO) he has participated in various international conferences (Tampere, Moscow, Berlin, Frankfurt, Lublin, New Delhi, Manila…) and also organised the first international symposium on site-specific theatre in the frame of the Dubrovnik Summer Festival.

Tomasz Kubikowski

Dramaturg, translator, and theatre scholar. He works as assistant artistic director and dramaturg at the Warsaw National Theatre. He is professor at the Theatre Academy in Warsaw as well as guest professor at the Warsaw Music Academy, the Stefan Wyszynski University, and the University of Richmond, Virginia, USA. He is director of the biennial meeting the International Festival of Folk Theatres. He has been selector and jury member at various Polish and international festivals. He is author of the books on performance theory Siedem bytów teatralnych (1994) and Regula Nibelunga (2004). He writes essays, reviews, and reports that he publishes mostly in professional publications such as Oder, Dialog, Teatr, Didaskalia.

Barbara Orel

Theatre critic and theoretician. Assistant Professor in the field of Dramaturgy at the Academy of Theatre, Radio, Film and Television (AGRFT) at University of Ljubljana where she teaches Performing Arts Studies. Since 2011, she is head of the UL AGRFT research group. She has published the book Play Within Play (2003), edited Performing Arts and the Politics of Representation (2008) and co-edited the monographic study Hybrid Spaces of Art (2012). Within the frame of the International Federation for Theatre Research, she collaborates as a researcher in the working group Theatrical Event. She was also selector of the national theatre festivals Week of Slovenian Drama (2006 and 2007) and the Maribor Theatre Festival (2008 and 2009).

Tea Rogelj

Dramaturg and curator. From 1995 to 2010 she was engaged at the Slovene National Theatre Nova Gorica, as dramaturg and assistant director there she took part in over 30 productions, edited theatre programmes and the bilingual catalogue Mozaik/Mosaico, and collaborated with the European Theatre Convention (ETC). Since 2010 she works as a curator in the National Theatre Museum of Slovenia. In 2010 and 2011 she collaborated in the international project TACE – Theatre Architecture in Central Europe. In 2012 she curated the exhibition Alenka Bartl, Costume Designer, for which she was awarded the Ivy Wreath. She is a member of the executive boards of the Association of Dramatic Artists of Slovenia, the Slovene Centre of the International Theatre Institute (ITI) and the National Theatre Museum of Slovenia as well as vice-president of Association of Theatre Critics and Researchers of Slovenia.

Petra Vidali

Writer and theatre critic. Following her B. A. in Comparative Literature and the Sociology of Culture she began writing theatre reviews and collaborating as a member of various juries. Most of her reviews have appeared in the Slovenian daily newspaper Večer, she has also written for more specialised literary magazines. For her work she received the Glazer Credential (2004) and the Stritar Award for Critical Pen (1999). She is editor of the cultural section at Večer and is also a book editor in Litera publishing house where she is in charge of the Babylon collection of contemporary translated prose as well as the "aesthetically innovative” collection New Signs.